Holiday Gifts From a Jar

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Hello Friends! Christmas is exploding at my house! I have been busy setting up all the Holiday decorations and trimming one of our trees. I usually put up five trees (yes, you read that right) so I need to get a move on before Thanksgiving!

I’m so excited to be hosting Thanksgiving at my home this year. It’s definitely a time to gather around with family & friends and reflect on all that you are truly thankful for.
That feeling of family to me, means sitting around the fireplace, eating great food, lots of hugs, and talking about old memories.

Some of the best memories I have as a Mother are my children’s homemade Christmas gifts. I actually have a Christmas tree  I set up in my kitchen that I call the “kids tree”. All of the treasures my kids have given me over the years are hung from that tree.
I remember growing up as a child that I HATED making homemade gifts and cards. I thought everyone really preferred a store bought gift.
How the tables turn. Once I became a Mother, I wanted those gifts made with love more than anything they could have purchased in a store.

As an adult, I love to give and receive homemade Christmas gifts!   I purchased these little glass jelly jars from Michaels and thought putting together my favorite homemade spice mixes would make a thoughtful present!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I filled the jelly jars mixing the spices from the recipes posted below, then found an old plaid shirt that I no longer wear. I used the top of a tin cookie can to trace around the shirt, making sure the circle was larger than the jar lid to allow a little overhang.

I cut the circle using sewing scissors, wrapped the jute twine around each bottle, and tied it in a bow knot.

This gift idea is so easy & fun using items you probably have around the house.

Let’s keep making those homemade gifts, because there’s nothing better than giving from your heart!

 

 

 

Herbs de Provence Ingredients

1/2 cup Thyme Leaf

1/4 cup Marjoram Leaf

2 tablespoons of cut and sifted Rosemary Leaf

2 tablespoons Savory

1 teaspoon of Lavender Flowers (lightly ground-optional)

2 teaspoons dried orange zest (optional)

1 teaspoon ground Fennel

Remove the zest of one  orange and dry in an oven on lowest setting or a dehydrator until completely dry. Place in a food processor with the lavender flowers and lightly pulse. Remove and mix all ingredients in a jar or bowl until mixed (do not grind up the herbs!)

I use this spice mix in soups, on chicken or on roasted vegetables.

 

 

Lemon Pepper Seasoning Ingredients

The zest from 4-6  lemons (or 1/2 cup pre-dried lemon zest)

6 Tablespoons ground black pepper (or whole peppercorns if you are using fresh lemon)

5 Tablespoons Himalayan Salt or Sea Salt

If using fresh lemon Zest, thoroughly zest the lemons and spread the fresh lemon out on a baking sheet. Put into the oven on the lowest setting and leave until completely dried, about an hour. When completely dried, mix with the peppercorns and salt in a food processor until well mixed. If making with pre-dried lemon peel, just mix all ingredients in a food processor until blended.

I use this spice mix on fish and LOVE to mix it into plain white rice.

 

Seasoned Salt Ingredients

2 Tbsp sea salt

1/4 cup Onion Powder

1/4 cup Garlic Powder

1/4 cup Black Pepper (ground)

2 tablespoons Chili Powder

3 tablespoons Paprika

2 tablespoons dried Parsley Leaf (optional)

1 tablespoon ground Red Pepper Flakes (optional)
Mix well by shaking in a jar or in a food processor. Store in airtight container.

I use this spice mix just about everywhere you would use regular salt when you want a little “extra” flavor.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Holiday Gifts From a Jar

  1. This is a fabulous idea Collette! I love how you said you put up 5 trees. My mother always puts up a bunch of trees too and also includes just a tree of our homemade ornaments! Love!!

    Like

  2. I’m with you my friend..except the five Christmas trees part. 🙂 i am thinking about a small tree in my kitchen for cooking ornaments..we shall see. I can’t wait to see all you do!!! I

    Like

  3. I love homemade gifts and your seasonings sound divine! I like that it’s something that everyone could use too. I put up four trees myself, so I know what you mean about it taking a long time! Can’t wait to see more of your Christmas decor!

    Like

Leave a Reply

